top of page
Search

What's in Your Podcast Library?



I am a newbie when it comes to podcast. I recently discovered the world of audio streaming this summer when someone recommended one to me. Yes, I am that person who has a radio in her house that I actually listen to and I still own and play my collection of Cds. Don’t judge me….. Either way, I thought I’d share a list of podcast I’ve come across, that I find inspirational and practical throughout my week. It is not an exhaustive list, just enough to stick to my three minute reading format. I might do a part two, but we will see how the week goes.


The Phil Vischer Podcast AKA The Holy Post

This was the podcast that was recommended to me. I actually had been listening to the VLOGs on YouTube, but they suddenly came to an end, so I was pleasantly surprised when I found out that I could continue listening through other means.


Phil Vischer is one of the co-creators of the popular children's Christian program VeggieTales. This podcast is not geared towards that audience. I enjoy listening, because Phil and his Co-hosts, Skye Jethani and Christian Taylor are known figures in the Evangelical world, but often represent a nontraditional view. I find this to be very refreshing, interesting and insightful. They cover topics from trending news, Christian theology, to interviews with Atheist. Phil’s humor is a little immature at times, so one could easily skip the beginning of the segment, but it does add to the character of the show. This podcast is like the Evangelical Christian social commentary hour.


The Glorious In The Mundane

When I initially saw the title for this one I knew I had to give it a try. Being a stay at home mom for most my parenting years at times felt unfulfilling and burdensome. I had so much I wanted to do but God over the years constantly reminded me that there was purpose and glory even in the simple and most mundane task in life (not that raising children is mundane). This podcast is hosted my Christy Nockels. I had no clue who she was, but a apparently she is a worship leader and Christian artist in the contemporary music world. On this show, she interviews fellow friends and contemporaries about their ministry in the body of Christ and the struggles they experience in the process. It’s a good one to listen to when I’m folding bulletins in the office and I'm wrapping up my day. A great reminder to be faithful in the little things, because it matters.


The Bible Project Podcast

Jon and Tim are the host of this podcast and I cannot speak more highly of these guys and what they have put together along with their team. If you have not already stumbled upon the Bible Project on YouTube you should do so immediately after reading this blog. The content that they produce is top notch! They provide free, easy to understand resources on how to study the Bible. This podcast is like the bonus features to those videos. It's the stuff they couldn’t fit in their videos, but thought would be beneficial to know. This is a great resource to have as a Bible study tool for the believer and unbeliever alike.


Exploring My Strange Bible

Tim Mackie from the Bible project is not only a scholar, but was a pastor for a number of years, and this podcast is a compilation of those teachings. Again, great, very easy to understand teachings on books, characters and concepts throughout the Bible. He is my go to preacher in this season (of course after my amazing husband ;) and I hope you find the time check it out at some point in your life.


These are some of my favorite podcasts to listen to. I hope you will find the time to download some or all this week and tell me what you think.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page