top of page
Search

Christmas Letter 2021


They say the older you get the faster time flies. I feel like we just started the year and now we are looking towards its close. It’s therapeutic for me to take a moment and reflect on the highlights of the year as I look over the last 358 days.

As usual, we kicked off the year celebrating our wedding anniversary. Eleven years and counting (next month will be 12). The year before we were on a beach in South Florida, but this year I had to look at my calendar to jog my memory of what we did! Apparently, we accomplished some painting that needed to be done. Acts of service is my first love language.

After a grueling study schedule, I was able to pass all my licensing exams and launch into my new career as a financial advisor with Thrivent. It has been a whirlwind, but very fulfilling journey. Many years ago, I was told I would be good with money and work in corporate settings. At the time I was a stay-at-home mom working on my BS in religion and social science. I didn’t really have a context or desire for what was said, so I kind of forgot about it until last year when I began this transition. Cheers to walking into destiny.

Isaac’s love and hobby for cyber security has grown over the last couple of years. Last year he sat for his Security Plus license and passed and this year as I write he is taking a cyber security (CASP+) test. His brain just keeps expanding. He has had a great year at Living Water celebrating 5 years as the pastor. Quite an accomplishment for us.

Zion began 4th grade and has noticeably grown in her sense of responsibility. She also started cross country this year and has done very well. She is the fastest in her class but now we have to get her to outrun the 5th graders. After the season, she began basketball. It’s fun to see her out there learning the game and growing in confidence.

Izzy has achieved his first full year in a house we own. He still says he prefers to live in an apartment, but as loud as he likes to play, I’m sure 24 hours in an apartment would rectify that belief. He is starting to learn the value of keeping his room clean and taking care of his toys. Now he tidy’s up his room a little before going to bed without our prompting which, is something I hope he keeps developing.

This year we had our first thanksgiving with just the 4 of us. With all the business of life we just wanted to keep it low key and it was a pleasant evening. We ate to our hearts delight and spent the rest of the time dancing to YouTube videos and watching old Michael Jackson videos. Memories.

This Christmas we are keeping with the low-key theme. Enjoying one another’s company. Eating our breakfast porridge. Opening gifts and making a scrumptious meal afterwards. I told Izzy he is in charge of Christmas dessert. What he doesn’t know is that I bought him a bunch or premixed stuff for Christmas, and he gets the “choice” of what he wants to make for us. I’m not yet fond of his ‘concoctions’ from scratch, but maybe someday .

From our family to yours we wish you a very merry Christmas. May the Christ that reigns supreme be your guiding star into the new year and beyond!

178 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page